top of page

My Beauty College Update: Graduating & New Opportunities

A week ago yesterday, I graduated from beauty college with a Makeup Artist Diploma, and here's how that went for me, and what I experienced.


This is a photo of a soft everyday look I do quite often.


The Last Week of Beauty College


Although it was an intense three months, everyday being in class, all day, with many written and performance based tests and exams multiple times a week, that wasn't the most stressful part of the school. The last week was one of the more stressful times for me.


It was the part of the course where we were setting up our businesses; business cards, websites, portfolios. It was all becoming very real, and I felt like I wasn't ready to go just yet, but rather that I needed more time. And that's not because I wasn't taught well, I was taught by a fantastic instructor who knew what she was doing, and taught me and the entire class not just about makeup but also about the industry and what we were getting ourselves into. Her advice will stay with me as long as I do what I'm doing.


Anyway, I felt like I needed more time just because I felt like I was going to be stuck after I graduated, with no work or even a work prospect after I finished. I was worried that I'd still be at my current job in a department store, with a diploma on the wall for no reason, because I wasn't using it.


It's easy to panic about graduating, because everyone around will always put so much pressure on you to perform in a certain way. I've been asked countless times "So what's next? Where are you going to work? What kind of career can you have with this?" And although they're all valid questions, it's okay to take some time to think about the answers to those questions. I'm still young, and I have lots of time to figure it out. Although, the last week of beauty college, I didn't think like this. I'm glad my perspective has changed.


Simple everyday look, requested by my classmate.


Being Professional


I've worked in retail for 4 years, where I've had to be as professional as I could be with customers, managers, and co-workers. This skill that I learned long ago, was a huge help to me during beauty college.


I spent three months with a very difficult person who tested my professionalism and patience as well as those around me. This person was not professional in the slightest, which is why it was absolutely important to be so myself. I'm not a saint, of course I slipped up and of course I lost my calm; it's who I am, I can't completely defy my nature...haha. I always thought people that were like this, who thought they were God's gift to humanity, needed to be taken down off their pedestal, but I was wrong. Life will do it for them. Their future bosses, clients, partners, friends, or even a random person on Instagram will do that. It's not important that I do so, but what is important is that I learn from everything they did.


Watching others mistakes is a great way to learn, and avoid the same mistakes yourself. So, I've learned a lot from this extremely difficult person and I will strive to avoid their behaviour, as I know that alone can ruin your career.


Editorial photoshoot, photo credits to Elyssa Erdhart.


What Comes Next?


The golden question. What's next? What do I do now?


I find myself lucky that I have many jobs, so much so that I'll rarely be out of work even for a day. Between working in retail, freelance makeup, VHS to USB conversion, and babysitting, I'll have something to keep me busy and something will always pay.


So, what do I do next...I do what I'm doing. I'm looking for a full time job as a makeup artist even if it's in retail, but in the mean time, I keep going the way that I have been.


Like I said, I've got lots of time to do all the things I want to do. There's no sense in running myself rampant right now and burning out before I find a really great opportunity that I would want to give my energy to. Most people my age won't be graduating with a diploma or degree for another 2-4 years, I'm lucky that I'm ahead of the game.

My first ever paying client, who wanted a simple look.


Now that I'm graduated, that I've done the program, if anyone has any questions about how the program was (in depth) or any other questions, don't hesitate to email me, or comment! Contact is at the bottom of the webpage.


I want to say thanks to everyone who read about my beauty college adventure, and those who continue to support me, and follow along about how I'm doing with finding work and helping me in any way you can. Even just reading this blog supports me, and I appreciate it very much.


Vi voglio bene,

Melissa


6C0F014B-61BD-4121-A24B-AA2D263671AD.jpg

Benvenuti! 

Thank you for reading my blog, I really appreciate it. Share with your friends, comment and let's have a conversation!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page