top of page

Interview with Toronto Based Singer-Songwriter, Francois Klark

It was an absolute pleasure to interview the brilliant Francois Klark, and talk with him about his musical background, greatest inspirations and future endeavours.

1. I’d love to know, how long have you been in the music industry?

Since 2009.


2. If you weren't in the music industry, what do you think you'd be doing instead?

I studied graphic design before going to school for music, so I would probably be an art director or copywriter. However, as a kid, I always wanted to become a marine biologist.


3. How did it feel to have your song in a Netflix movie? (Feel The Beat starring Sofia Carson)

I was floored and also in complete disbelief pretty much until the moment that I heard the song in the film for the first time.


4. Can you take us through your creative process when writing new music? What do you start with, is there a ritual you go through, etc?

Once I have an idea for a song, I tend to write the lyrics, melody, and chords simultaneously. It has been my experience that those three elements are inseparably intertwined in my writing process. One element directs, shapes, and affects the other.


5. If you could collaborate with three other musicians, who would it be and why?

UK artist Labrinth (Timothy Lee McKenzie) - I have been a big fan of his for many years. I am crazy about his production and writing. His writing and production are incredibly creative, ever-surprising, and beautiful. I would also jump at the chance to sing with Chris Martin. It doesn’t have to be a big to-do…just a little acoustic duet on an old upright piano would do. I love his songwriting - his lyrics, melodic choices and chord changes. I also, more than anything, love to be around and work with good people, and Chris seems like a genuine mensch. I would also love to collaborate with Flume on a remix project.


6. Where has been your favourite venue to play at in your career?

One of my favourite gigs I ever played was at Tattoo Rock Parlour in Toronto. The venue, sound, and audience were just incredible. Unfortunately, the venue closed down.


7. I really appreciate you for taking the time to talk with me, and I’ll leave you with one last question; what should we be expecting from you in the near future?

You can keep an eye out for some brand new merch being released this November, some new live performance dates in 2023, as well as a Dolby Atmos Immersive Sound Mix of the ‘Adventure Book’ album. Thank you so much for the quick hang, Melissa.


And there you have it, folks! I have to say, after all the interviews I've conducted, Francois was an interviewee that I was very excited to speak with. I first came across his music by watching the movie, Feel The Beat and the scene where the dance company comes together and dances to Francois' song, Always, gets me misty-eyed every time. After that, I started discovering his music more on Spotify and so many of his songs resonated with me; it's not every day that I love an artist's complete discography. Plus, I had no idea Francois was from Toronto like myself, which also made me very proud that a fellow Torontonian's music made it into an American Netflix film.


It was truly a pleasure to get to speak with Francois after all this time listening to his music, to be able to learn more about his process, his background and what he plans to do in the future.


I definitely recommend you all listen to Francois on either Spotify, Apple Music, Youtube or whatever it is that you use to stream music.


Here you can find Francois' top songs on Spotify.



You can also find Francois on Instagram here, @francoisklark


And here is the scene from Feel The Beat that first let me discover Francois.


Thank you once again to Francois Klark for taking the time out of his busy schedule to speak with me for this interview, it was a lovely experience.


Is there someone you'd like to see me interview? If so, send me an email or DM and let me know!


Vi voglio bene,

Melissa


6C0F014B-61BD-4121-A24B-AA2D263671AD.jpg

Benvenuti! 

Thank you for reading my blog, I really appreciate it. Share with your friends, comment and let's have a conversation!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page