top of page

Il Volo Live In Concert Toronto 2022: Review from the Front Row

After waiting for Il Volo's return to Toronto after almost 3 years, it was lovely to see them back on stage again on September 7, 2022. Here's what I loved about the concert, right from the front row.


All photos taken by me.


It was nice to have Il Volo start off their North American Tour here in Toronto, and the energy was great.


I'm gonna start off by saying I loved the concert, it was beautiful and very nice to have them back here after so long.


Here are some of my favourite parts of the show.


Gianluca's Solo: If I Can Dream

Most people who know me know that I love Elvis Presley, and apparently so does Gianluca. He sang the song, If I Can Dream by Elvis for the first time on stage, and I was so surprised and impressed. It's already a fantastic song to begin with, but hearing Gianluca sing it really blew me away. I've always loved Gianluca, of course, but I've come to appreciate him and his voice a lot more lately.

Photo by me



I Wonder Would He Even Know Me Now


I really love the movie Nuovo Cinema Paradiso, and I was so surprised to see I Wonder Would He Even Know Me Now on the CD, let alone live on stage. Like the movie, the song makes me very emotional and seeing Il Volo sing it around the piano, live, it just got me right in the feels. Leading up to the show, I was honestly expecting Metti Una Sera A Cena or Se Telefonando, but never this one. It was a pleasant surprise. Also, shout out to Giampiero Grani, the pianist and musical director who never misses a beat all while conducting. Round of applause, Maestro.

Photo by me


The White Suits

Okay, so when they first came out from behind the curtain, I had a light shining right in my eyes, and I didn't quite see properly when they first appeared, then I saw 3 figures all in white show up and I gasped. They were in pristine white suits, and I wasn't sure why but it was such a surprise. Later on, I thought it could have been a tribute to Elvis Presley in the 68 Comeback Special, or that they just wanted to feel angelic. Either way, I was into it.

Photo by me


Piero's Solo: E Lucevan Le Stelle

I really love No Puede Ser, don't get me wrong, and that's what I was waiting for when Piero came out alone behind the microphone. But when the orchestra started playing the notes to E Lucevan Le Stelle, I was so surprised and happy. I've never heard E Lucevan Le Stelle live before this show, but I can say now that I had the pleasure of finally seeing and hearing it live. The passion and precision is indescribable; something you have to see to understand.

Photos by me


Ignazio and Gianluca's Duet: Hallelujah

This one was a tearjerker. Ignazio gave a little speech beforehand, taking the time to remember those who aren't with us anymore. It made me a bit sad at the moment to think of that topic, but I tried to really focus on their performance. I didn't even notice how mesmerized I was by them, until it was over and I found myself (and the rest of the venue) on their feet. It was beautiful, I really hope it's on the next CD.

Photo by me


Conclusion

This was a fantastic show and reward after making it through the pandemic, which was not easy on anybody. It felt amazing to be back in such a beautiful crowd of people, with these lovely artists in front of me. I'm trying to think of what I didn't love, and the list is very small; I would have only added two things; Metti Una Sera a Cena and Se Telefonando. Other than that, everything was perfection. I really can't wait until the next time Il Volo comes around town, or maybe even going to the States could be an option; their theatres are so beautiful as well. Until next time.

Photo by me


Here are some extra photos I took during the show...






P.S. Piero shared this pic on his IG story, and it was mine!




P.S. These photos are all taken by me at the show, so please if you want to repost (as I've seen done on Instagram and Facebook) please give credit where credit is due, thank you in advance:)


And so, another concert has come and gone. I always think about the way artists travel to new cities every day, and it gives me such a feeling of wanderlust to go practically everywhere and see everything. I'm hoping to get the opportunity to go to the States next time Il Volo comes to North America, so I can see different parts of my neighbouring country (I've only ever been to 2 states!), different theatres and venues that carry so much history and beauty, and of course, to enjoy this lovely music in a different setting. There's nothing I love more than travelling and live music.


I hope you all get a chance to see Il Volo live one day, it's a really fun experience to share with someone, and something beautiful to feel the music when you see what it takes to put on a show as spectacular as this one.


Until next time.


Vi voglio bene,

Melissa





6C0F014B-61BD-4121-A24B-AA2D263671AD.jpg

Benvenuti! 

Thank you for reading my blog, I really appreciate it. Share with your friends, comment and let's have a conversation!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page