top of page

Il Volo Sings Morricone: What I Think Of The New Album

Naturally, I was very excited for this new collaboration, and here is what I think of the album all together, and the songs track by track.


Like I said about the concert that featured the same songs months ago, this is just my opinion as a consumer and as someone who studies and understands music theory. I'm in no way a professional.


The Ecstasy Of Gold

This is the perfect song to open up a concert with. The drama, intensity and "wild, wild west" vibe to this song makes it ideal to get a crowd excited and on their feet in the first few seconds of the oboe (or flute) introduction.


My Favourite Line:


"I will love you,

From now until the end of time."


Your Love

I've heard this song for a little less than a year now, and I've given my opinion of it many times before, but just for those that are new, I will say, this is a beautiful song, with a lovely melody.


My Favourite Line:


"I woke and saw you there

Beside me as before

My heart leapt to find you near

To feel you close once more"


Nella Fantasia

I've heard another classical crossover group sing this song, and I have to say, Il Volo's version just seems more delicate and euphoric rather than powerful and over the top, which is fantastic. I love that it's more operatic, and the flautist Andrea Griminelli is flawless, crisp and sharp.


My Favourite Line:


"Io sogno d'anime che sono sempre libere"



Metti Una Sera A Cena

I wasn't too crazy about this song when I saw the Rai1 special, maybe because it was a rough arrangement at the time considering they didn't have much rehearsal time...COVID-19 really took a toll on performing arts, so all is understood. Hearing the polished version, I'm in love with this song and it's jazzy air.


My Favourite Line:


"Noi comprenderemo cosa vuole dire

Veramente starsene per ore

Nel silenzio stretti da morir"


Se

As you can tell from my previous post, I enjoy listening to HAUSER, especially his versions of Cinema Paradiso, while I read. This version, with HAUSER's romantic cello and the sultry, melodic and technical voices of Il Volo, makes it irresistibile. This is definitely my favourite song on the album, I can just imagine the movie Nuovo Cinema Paradiso as the song plays.


My Favourite Line:


"Se tu fossi nella mia anima un giorno

Sapresti cosa sento in me

Che m'innamorai

Da quell'istante insieme a te

E ciò che provo è

Solamente amore"


La Califfa

I never knew this song's lyrics would be in English, with a small part in Italian at the end. This song reminds me of a very heavenly, angelic lullaby. It resolves beautiful after every note, and the message is also very uplifting and hopeful.


My Favourite Line:


"Tu ritroverai con me

La più splendida proprietà

Un attimo di sole sopra noi

Alla ricerca di te"


Conradiana

One of the very few songs that Piero starts, and I honestly like when he starts a song, especially one like this, just because of the lilt to the highest points of the introduction wouldn't have fit anyone better than him. It is a sad song, very dramatic, and yet I haven't seen the movie, I feel like I can picture the scene that it would fit: a war time send off to a fallen soldier.


My Favourite Line:


"Una scia profonda d'azzurra intensità

Chiglia sei nell'onda, vibrante intimità

Libera l'ombra che in acqua fugge via

È una vertigine d'amore e follia"


E Più Ti Penso

I've heard Il Volo sing this song since 2010, and I love it. Seeing how their voices, technique and passion have grown, it's really fantastic to be able to see after 11 years that it's come out on their debut album, the same voices are there but just more seasoned. The song itself is lovely, and was definitely my anthem during the COVID-19 lockdowns, a couple months ago.


My Favourite Line:


"E piu' ti penso e piu' mi manchi

Ti vedo coi miei occhi stanchi

E' notte fonda penso sempre a te

Chiudo gil ochhi e penso a te

Malgrado tutto sei la cosa piu' importante

E mi ritorni in mente dolce come sei"


Se Telefonando

Since I heard this song months ago, I knew I loved it. The lyrics and the tone of the song don't quite match however. The artists are singing about how if they could look someone in the eye, they'd know to tell them that it's enough, and that their love story, although just begun is already over. The artists voices and the accompaniment is quite joyful, and the lyrics speak of a break up, so to speak...I'm not saying they should have made it as sad as the lyrics, I enjoy it the way it is, but it's like one of those breakups where the person breaking up sings them why they are ending it, as if to soften the blow.


My Favourite Line:


"Se guardandoti negli occhi

Sapessi dirti "Basta"

Ti guarderei

Ma non so spiegarti

Che il nostro amore appena nato

È già finito"


Come Sail Away

Being a band nerd for many years in school, I'm very familiar with Chris Botti. The melody of this song reminded me slightly of "I'll Be Home For Christmas" , and I'm not quite sure why. The song is very beautiful in it's melancholic message.


My Favourite Line:


"Do you remember,

Those golden days,

Come sail away."


Would He Even Know Me Now?

I had found this song about 2 weeks before this version came out, it was a female voice singing with Morricone's accompaniment, and I loved it. The relatability of the lyrics has me feeling melancholic, nostalgic, hopeful and romantic. This song talks about a love that was lost and the person it concerns is wondering if there is any hope that the other person may still love them. The song is a beautiful lullaby, and I really have listened to it already a couple times in the past few hours this album has been released.


My Favourite Line:


"I wonder if he'll even know my name

Or must I remind him of those days

He used to love me then, he may still love me now

I wonder would me even know me now

We were so young and it was long ago

Or will the memories rush back all at once with one hello"


Amalia Por Amor

Now, I'm very familiar with this groups discography, having listened to them for as long as I have, and it is so interesting to hear their first song recorded in Portuguese! Their Italian accents definitely help them with the pronounciation of the words of a language they don't necessarily speak. This song is also just as intense as Here's To You.


My Favourite Line:


"E a cantar

Tu dás tanto amor

Que morres para matar

A nossa dor"


Here's To You

The lyrics to this song are very minimal, being,


"Here's to you, Nicola and Bart,

Rest forever here in our hearts,

The last and final moment is yours,

That agony is your triumph."


This song reminds me of a battle chant, the intensity in the instruments and their voice crescendoing as the song carries on, it's just great.


I Colori Dell'Amore

Not only is the song remastered to the studio version rather than the onstage version I heard months ago, there are quite a few changes in the lyrics, melody and progression of the song. I also heard Il Volo talk about this song in an interview where they said they made this song the last in the album because everything until here was written by Ennio Morricone, whereas this song is by his son, Andrea and this was Andrea's gift to Il Volo and their project honouring his father. That alone, is a beautiful sentiment.


My Favourite Line:


"Sono I colori dell'amore

Di passione e libertà

In mano un fiore e poi

Due attimi di noi

Immagini di un film

Istanti senza età"


Overall, this album is fantastic, I really enjoy it, and I am very happy to hear that this album release comes along with a new tour coming soon, starting in March that will be called "Il Volo Sings Morricone & More"


What was your favourite song in this album? Let's talk!


Vi voglio bene,

Melissa

6C0F014B-61BD-4121-A24B-AA2D263671AD.jpg

Benvenuti! 

Thank you for reading my blog, I really appreciate it. Share with your friends, comment and let's have a conversation!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page