top of page

The Prince and The Apocalypse by Kara McDowell: Book Review

What a pleasantly strange yet intriguing read...I'll be going through the pros and cons of this book with no spoilers. Thank you NetGalley for gifting me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.


Pros of The Prince and The Apocalypse by Kara McDowell


Banter

I loved how sharp the hero and heroine, Wren and Theo, were with each other. They were very compatible and their chemistry was obvious throughout the entire book especially as the themes got darker. They had that perfect roast to flirt ratio, especially for being a YA novel.


Emotion

The author really did a great job at putting the reader in the shoes of the main characters, who have two very opposite situations and yet you still feel empathy for both of them, only imagining what you'd do in their shoes. The desperation and despair is palpable, making me really appreciate the effort of the author to do such a great job.


The End

IYKYK...Let's just say, you'll be counting the days for the next book in the series.


Cons of The Prince and The Apocalypse by Kara McDowell


Woke-ness

I'm all for inclusion and awareness, but I felt like at times this book tried a bit too hard to be relevant and trending. It was just becoming a bit too political and social issue related for my liking. I read fiction for enjoyment and for the sake of escaping reality for a bit; if I wanted to read about social issues, discrimination, etc, I would have just turned on the news.


This wasn't my favourite read ever, but I would definitely read the second book (crossing my fingers that there actually is one). Have you read this book? Do you want to?


A presto,

Melissa

6C0F014B-61BD-4121-A24B-AA2D263671AD.jpg

Benvenuti! 

Thank you for reading my blog, I really appreciate it. Share with your friends, comment and let's have a conversation!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page