top of page

Icebreaker by Hannah Grace: Book Review

After the extensive hype this book has received, I finally caved. Plus since the NHL currently finds itself in the playoffs, I thought it no better time seasonally to read this book. I'll be going through the pros and cons of this book, with no spoilers ahead.


Pros of Icebreaker by Hannah Grace


Nate Hawkins

Okay, so Nate is the hero of this book, and he lives up to his title as dreamy-hockey player-book boyfriend. He's everything a girl could want in a man, plus he's a hockey player - which are a different breed, just putting on a pair of skates and a jersey really shows just how attractive a man can be - so he's completely irresistible. He's self aware, respectful, protective, helpful, romantic, communicative, and everything else that makes the ideal romantic partner. Although he has his own trauma and issues, he rarely - if ever - lets it bleed into his relationship with Anastasia. He's patient with Anastasia, and treats her like an absolute princess. He's also got quite the foul mouth, and he is, in fact written by a woman and it shows. I've seen on TikTok that BookTok has fan-casted NHL players into roles of hockey boyfriends in romance books, and so far for Nate Hawkins I've seen Mitch Marner from the Toronto Maple Leafs as the common decision...I can't say that they're wrong.


Anastasia and Nate's Communication

It goes without saying that any new relationship is hard to navigate, especially when it starts the way Nate and Anastasia's relationship did...anyway, their communication for the duration of the book obviously improves and demonstrates how young couples should strive to treat each other with the respect and dignity that Anastasia and Nate have for each other; they hear each other out without judgement and they're truly just striving for a healthy and open relationship where they can share with each other whatever it is that is bothering them in an educated way. Of course, they have their moments but for the most part, they're quite mature for being in their early twenties.


The Author

I knew Hannah Grace was British, and in this book it definitely shows. Although the book takes place in America, Canada is also mentioned - side note, I love a little Canadian representation in romance books - but none of the characters are British, yet they speak like Brits which I find so funny. It's a cute little touch that I only notice because I spend a lot of time listening to British people talk either on YouTube and podcasts - shout out to The Welsh Twins particularly - but it's definitely there if you notice certain phrases or words are exclusively British, I've learned some new colloquialisms.


Cons of Icebreaker by Hannah Grace


Use Of Profanity

I'm no saint, and I've been known to drop an f-bomb, even in my own book, but this book just had a lot of useless profanity that was used every other word as a filler. It's not a reason to put the book down, but it got annoying after a little bit and I wished the author had opted for different ways to describe and dictate things rather than everything being an expletive.


This was a cute read, nothing too groundbreaking, nor too heavy; a hockey-figure skating romance was right up my alley.


Have you read Icebreaker by Hannah Grace? Do you want to? Let's have a conversation!


Melissa's Social Media:


Instagram: @melissa_dia

Goodreads: Melissa Diaferia

Facebook: melissa.diaferia.5

TikTok: @melissadia23


A presto,

Melissa


6C0F014B-61BD-4121-A24B-AA2D263671AD.jpg

Benvenuti! 

Thank you for reading my blog, I really appreciate it. Share with your friends, comment and let's have a conversation!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page